October 28, 2010

Girlfriends at the Lake

Posted in Food, Friendships, Knitting, Women tagged , , , , , , , , , at 6:56 am by Liliana

Walking Barefoot

Walking Barefoot

I spent last weekend with my sister Branka and four friends at our cottage near Lake Michigan.

If you are wondering what women of our age like to do on these kinds of getaways, I will tell you.

We slept late in the morning, and then sat around in our pajamas, drinking coffee and talking.

Some of us cooked and made wonderful meals: scrambled eggs, toast, cheese and fresh fruit for breakfast; roasted stuffed chicken with roasted potatoes and salad for lunch; leak and potato soup, chili, and salad for dinner.

Some of us baked: Branka made walnut strudel (ahead of time) that lasted throughout the weekend, even though we had some at every meal; Margaret made delicious brownies and brought candles so we could celebrate Ann’s birthday; Ann made an amazingly rich chocolate cake for her own birthday.

We sang “Happy Birthday” to Ann.

We explored an antique store and each found treasures. Branka and Jelena bought earrings; Ann noticed delicate china perfect for her daughter Erin; Martha bough a little porcelain cow creamer for my daughter Nena; Margaret discovered an elegant silk scarf; I came across a milky white pitcher for my dried flower bouquets.

We stopped at the knitting store and I bought some soft orange wool to make a scarf for Branka. Ann started teaching me a new (complicated!) pattern.

In the evening, we went to see “The Social Network” at the old movie theater. After the movie we stayed up late (well past our bedtimes) talking about it, researching the facts, pointing to each other articles on the topic that we liked or disliked.

The next morning, we walked on the beach. The air was hazy, soft and mild, so we took our shoes and socks off and walked barefoot on the sand. For late October, the lake water was remarkably warm. We walked in the sunshine, Ann took photographs, and we talked and laughed. We sat on an old bench to rest. We saw a rainbow.

We had coffee and chocolate cake before getting ready to go home.

On our drive back, we stopped at the roadside market and bought pumpkins and fresh, crispy apples. Jelena bought chestnuts to roast.

Like a squirrel storing nuts, I stockpiled memories of our weekend. When the days get shorter, darker and colder, I will dig them up again.

6 Comments »

  1. ellen joy said,

    This is a lovely piece. We just returned from a trip to California to visit my brother. The 3 of us saw The Social Network mid-trip and were up for hours afterward talking—-with some hot arguments!!!—about it.
    Your memories are reminding me of time spent with my mom and my sister and other women in my life. So different than a trip with “the boys”. I think I need to start making some plans:)

    • Liliana said,

      Get your friends together, Ellen, and have a wonderful time.

      I know it’s not easy to do. Our group usually does it once a year, and it’s always a different group of people. That’s OK. We always have a great time and feel straightened and refreshed afterward.
      Best,
      Liliana

  2. Dave Harrison said,

    Absolutely nothing like being with good friends!

  3. Nicole said,

    I’m so glad you guys had fun! I wish I could have been there!

    • Liliana said,

      Hey Missy,
      I wish you were there, too! I hope all is well at Fort Knox.
      Love, hugs and kisses,
      teta Lia


Leave a comment